Catedral at Old Goa*
The largest of the churches
at Old Goa, the construction of Sé Catedral began in 1562 during
the reign of King Dom Sebastião (1557-78) and substantially completed
by 1619. The cathedral was built for the Dominicans and paid for by the
Royal Treasury out of the proceeds of the sale of the Crown's property.
Architecturally, the building is Portuguese- Gothic in style with a Tuscan
exterior and Corinthian interior. There were originally two towers, one
on either side of the façade, but the one on the southern side collapsed
in 1776. This Cathedral has five bells. The existing tower houses a famous
bell, one of the largest in Goa and often referred to as 'Golden Bell'
on account of its rich sound. The main altar is dedicated to St. Catherine
of Alexandria, and old paintings on either side of it depict scenes from
her life and martyrdom.
of Bom Jesus at Old Goa*
The tomb and mortal remains
of St.Francis Xavier is kept at the Basilica of Bom Jesus .
Apart from the richly gilded
altars, the interior of the church is remarkable for its simplicity, and
this is the only church which is not plastered on the outside. It was commenced
in 1594 and completed in 1605. The remains of the body are housed in a
silver casket which at one time was covered in jewels. On the walls surrounding
it are murals depicting scenes from the saint's journeys, including on
his death on the Sancian Island.
Augustine's Tower at Old Goa
All that is left of this
church is the enormous 46 metre high tower which served as a belfry and
formed part of the façade of the church. What little is left of
the other parts of the church is choked with creepers and weeds, and access
is difficult. The church was constructed in 1602 by Augustinian friars
who arrived in Goa in 1587. It was abandoned in 1835 as a result of repressive
policies followed by the Portuguese government, which resulted in the eviciton
of many religious orders from Goa. The church fell into neglect and the
vault collapsed in 1842 followed by more parts in 1938.
& Convent of Santa Mónica at Old Goa
This huge, three storeyed
laterite building was commenced in 1606 and completed in 1627, only to
burn down nine years later. Reconstruction started the following year,
and it's from this time that the buildings date. It was once known as the
Royal Monastery on account of the royal patronage which it enjoyed. The
building is now used by the Mater Dei Institute as a nunnery which was
inaugurated in 1964.There are fading murals on the western inside walls.
of Our Lady of Miracles*
The St. Jerome's Chruch of
Mapusa is more known for the devotion of Our Lady of Miracles. The church
was first built in 1594 AD and was reconstructed in 1674 AD. After having
been partially destroyed in fire in 1836, it was built in 1839 AD.
of Our Lady of Immaculate Conception, Panaji
The second leg of church
pilgrimage can well commence with a visit to the Majestic Church of Our
Lady of Immaculate Conception in Panaji which is famous for its artistic
staircase besides the abounding veneration on the part of the faithful.
A chapel existed here well before 1541 AD and it was made a parish church
in 1600 AD. Some years later, the structure was re-erected from its foundation.
The church feast held in December draws large crowds of devotees.
of Shri Mahadeva at Tambdi Surla
66 Kms. in Sanguem Taluka
at the foot of the Ghats, is the only specimen of Kadamba-Yadava architecture
(13th century) in basalt stone preserved and available in Goa, a motorable
road connects Sancordem to this temple complex.
Manguesh at Mangueshi, Ponda*
22 Kms. (26 Kms from Margao)
at Priol-Ponda Taluka. It is located on a hillock surrounded by rolling
green hills. Though small, it has an air of distinctive elegance. Its lofty
white tower at the entrance is a landmark of the country side. This is
a temple dedicated to Lord Shiva.
Ramnath at Ramnathi, Ponda
33 kms. in Ponda Taluka.
Besides the shrine of the main Ramnath deity it has four small temples
of Shri Laxminarayan, Shri Shantadurga (Sateri), Shri Betal and Shri Sidhanath.
The five together, constitute Shri Ramnath Panchayatan. The legend in mythology
says that Rameshwar is the original abode of Lord Ramnath.
26 Kms from Margao at Sanguem.
Built in the last century, the Jama Masjid was completely renovated in
1959. The new structure is remarkable for its harmonious proportions and
elegant simplicity. It has four minarets whilst the entrance facade is
flanked by two elegant turrets surmounted by pillared kiosks. A domeshaped
kiosk rises in the centre of the four minarets. Festivals are celebrated
here with due solemnity and eclat by the devotees.
The Shahouri Masjid, the
biggest and most famous of the 27 mosques in Ponda taluka was built in
1560 by Ibrahim Adilshah of Bijapur. Adjacent to the Mosque is a well-constructed
masonry tank with small chambers displaying 'meharab' designs. The mosque
and the tank were formerly surrounded by an extensive garden with many
fountains. They were all destroyed during the Portuguese rule. The two
major festivals Id-Ul-Fitr and Id-Ul-Zuha are celebrated at this mosque
with great pomp and are attended by a large number of people.